FOCUS

Focus- It’s a powerful thing. It can enable us to accomplish seemingly impossible tasks. It can cause despair and disease.

I’ve been doing an exercise with some of my clients and friends lately. First I have them stand, put their dominant arm out parallel to the floor and make a fist. Then I test their strength by pushing down on their wrist and telling them to resist. Next I ask them to think about something they are good at or like about themselves and to resist as I push down. Sometimes the person demonstrates a little more strength than baseline. Often I can’t tell the difference. Lastly, I tell the person to think about something they are bad at or don’t like about themselves and to resist as I push down on their wrist. Many times, I can immediately push their arm to their side with little resistance.  There is always a significant decrease in their ability to resist. Most respond with a comment like, “That’s amazing, I had no idea!” Some people ask to do it again (and get the same results). A few people are skeptical and claim I just push harder the third time.

A recent research study found that when people engage in problem talk (talking about how bad things are, what’s wrong with life, the world, etc) their cortisol levels increase. Cortisol is a stress hormone. The higher a person’s cortisol level is, the more likely they are to experience depression or anxiety. In other words, you can talk yourself into depression or anxiety.

SATISFACTIONDepending on what you focus on, you can increase your strength or steal your strength.

Depending on what you focus on, you can make yourself stressed out and depressed or you can make yourself content and satisfied.

It’s your choice. What will you choose today?

About Dennis R. Eames

Live The Life ~ You were created for More! I am a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. I specialize in assisting individuals Live the Life they were created for by overcoming life’s roadblocks. I provide spirit-let, client-centered counseling. I work with individuals, couples, and families overcoming barriers including depression, anxiety, trauma or abuse, compulsive behaviors, relationship issues, and more. Dennis R. Eames Marriage and Family Therapist Alaska Center for Natural Medicine 452-3600 livethelifealaska@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FOCUS

  1. Pingback: Live the Life means… | Live the Life!

Leave a Reply

